CMMC Compliance

MTBW holds all the requirements for CMMC compliance. We are adamant about protecting your sensitive data, for government contracts and all other business. We can assist you with the intensive training series and testing to get your certification

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is a Department of Defense (DOD) process. The certification is required for small businesses to bid on DOD projects and services. The testing measures a Defense Industrial Base Sector (DIB), or small business’s ability to protect cybersecurity data. The requirement is to keep Federal Contract Information (FCI) and Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) confidential.

MTBW wants to help clear up some of the confusing abbreviations and requirements.

What is CMMC Compliance, and What Does it Mean to You?

A CMMC certificate is necessary if your company is to transact any business with the DOD. It is not a quick, easy, or inexpensive process. However, The federal approval may very well be worth the extra effort by making you eligible to bid on DOD transactions.       

What Are the 5 CMMC Levels?

There are five levels of certification that you can pursue. The level is determined by the DOD. It is based on the type of business you plan to transact, and the risk of exposure to FCI and CUI.

  1.  CMMC Level 1: Safeguard federal contract information.
  2. CMMC Level 2: Serve as a transition step in cybersecurity maturity progression to the protection of  CUI
  3. CMMC Level 3: Protect CUI.
  4. CMMC Level 4: Protect CUI and reduce the risk of advanced persistent threats
  5. CMMC Level 5: Protect CUI and reduce the risk of advanced persistent threats 

The Federal Cyber Accreditation Body (Cyber AB) oversees the CMMC Compliance. They evaluate an organization’s maturity. It is measured by the initial and ongoing compliance with cybersecurity practices. 

The company is also evaluated for the integration of changes into its current operations. All organizations providing products or services to the United States DOD must meet their applicable CMMC Level. 

CMMC and Your Business

CMMC compliance is a comprehensive framework to protect the defense industrial base from cyberattacks. With its streamlined requirements, CMMC 2.0:

  • Cuts red tape for small and medium-sized businesses
  • Sets priorities for  protecting DOD information
  • Promotes cooperation between the DOD and industry in addressing evolving cyber threats

Microsoft has designated the US Sovereign Cloud with Azure Government and Microsoft 365 Government (GCC High) for the DOD. It is designed to protect CUI and CDI consistently. This cloud location has been reserved for the sole purpose of the government cyber business.

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification is necessary for a company to place bids for DOD services or supplies. Depending on your type of business, the federal government could be one of your best clients. Our experts at MTBW CMMC Info can help you determine the Level of Certification you need. We will also assist you in the training and testing process, and your CMMC Compliance checklist. Contact us at 301-829-5925 to discuss your next step in getting your CMMC certification.